Adding New Chapters to an Old Story

Grounded in the Presbyterian tradition of Christian faith, we believe that God has placed First Presbyterian Church in this time and place to begin a new chapter in an old story, by developing Christian faith that honors and cherishes tradition, while not being bound by traditionalism. We believe that God is Calling First Presbyterian Church to take up the challenge of communicating the good news of Jesus Christ to generations through:


Meaningful worship that makes the word of God available to both new and mature followers of Jesus Christ;

Relevant instruction focused on growing new disciples and equipping mature saints;

Authentic fellowship that builds true community by emphasizing our belonging to one another through Jesus Christ;

Compassionate Christ-centered outreach that makes a difference, locally and globally.


We believe that God has called us to be a haven of Christian community, and a representative and witness for Christ in Aiken, and in the world.



Class of 2021


Franklin Buchanan

Educational & Youth Ministries Committee, Chair


Addie Feraldi

Congregational Life Committee


Gayle Gordon

New Member/Hospitality Committee, Chair


Rob Gray

Property Liaison


Brad Kuhn

Memorial Committee, Chair


Clarke McCants

Clerk of Session


Amy Shumpert

Worship Committee, Chair

Class of 2022


Bobby Calfee

Commitment Committee,



Terry Montgomery


Finance Committee, Chair

Endowment Committee, Chair


Andy Ploeger

Personnel Committee, Chair

Commitment Committee


Ashby Reynolds

Congregational Life

Committee, Chair


Vic Sowers

Mission Committee, Chair


Hugh Verenes

Congregational Life


Class of 2023


Phyllis Britt

Worship Committee


Brenda Guerry

New Member/Hospitality


Barb Magrath

PW Liaison


Frank Townsend

Preschool Liaison


Lindsay Tucker

Educational & Youth Ministries Committee


Class of 2021

Miranda Anderson



Susie Ferrara

Visitation and Respite Care


Hank Reynolds

Medical Equipment & Minor Home Repair

Class of 2022

Corey Feraldi



Burt Starks

Meal Preparation/Delivery


Chick Warner

Flower Delivery

Class of 2023

Lestine Bush

Card Ministry


Janice Cadwallader

Memorial Receptions


Jean Covington

Extended Communion


Class of 2021

Ted Girardeau


Class of 2022

Becky Reynolds


Class of 2023

Dave Muhlbaier


Follow us on

social media!

We are a Stephen Ministry Congregation.

First Presbyterian Church

224 Barnwell Avenue NW

Aiken, SC  29801